Skip to content

The Innovators’ Breakfast Club – Series 3

The Innovation Caucus was delighted to host a third series of the ‘Innovators’ Breakfast Club’, bringing together leading social scientists and Innovate UK/UKRI staff to discuss prominent issues in the UK innovation landscape.

It was great to see a lot of new faces from across UKRI join us for another set of engaging discussions. Each session begins with an Innovate UK staff member setting out the context on the week’s topic, followed by 2 or 3 short ‘provocations’ from Innovation Caucus members or special guests, invited for their social science expertise. Speakers’ short inputs are designed to stimulate thinking and actionable insights drawn from social science research. The focal point of each event is always the lively audience discussion and Q & A with panellists.

We would like to thank all of our speakers (listed below) for their work in preparing and delivering insightful talks,  Debbie Johnson and Dr Geeta Nathan (Innovate UK)  for their work in bringing this latest series together, and also Dr Vicki Belt (Enterprise Research Centre) for valuable expert speaker recommendations. Thanks also to participants for filling in the series evaluation form and providing plenty of ideas for future consideration – watch this space!

Innovator’s Breakfast Club: Series 3 – Thanks to all of our speakers!

Disruptive Innovation (21.04.21)

  • Simone Boekelaar (Innovate UK)
  • Professor Jonathan Sapsed (Newcastle University)
  • Professor Irene Ng (University of Warwick)

Business Model Innovation (28.04.21)

  • Nigel Walker (Innovate UK)
  • Dr Panos Desyllas (University of Bath)
  • Dr Yang Zhao (Loughborough University London)

Agility & Experimentations (05.05.21)

  • Simon Edmonds (Innovate UK)
  • Dr Eszter Czibor (Nesta)
  • Professor Bruce Tether (University of Manchester)

Connecting Innovation Ecosystems (12.05.21)

  • Dan Hodges (Innovate UK)
  • Professor Kiran Fernandes (Durham University)
  • Dr Karen Bonner (University of Ulster)
  • Professor Rick Delbridge (Cardiff University)

Missions (19.05.21)

  • Mike Biddle (Innovate UK)
  • Dr Kieron Flanagan (University of Manchester)
  • Professor Kevin Morgan (Cardiff University)

Featured image adapted from a photo by Syed Hussaini on Unsplash